Elected Officials




Needham Elected Town Boards (number of members/term)

  • Board of Assessors (3/3-year)
  • Board of Health (3/3-year)
  • Board of Selectmen (5/3-year)
  • Commissioners of Trust Funds (3/3-year)
  • Needham Housing Authority (4/5-year; 5th member appointed by State)
  • Park and Recreation Commission (5/3-year)
  • Planning Board (5/5-year)
  • School Committee (7/3-year)
  • Trustees of the Needham Library (7/3-year)
  • Trustees of Memorial Field (5/3-year)

Needham Elected Individuals

  • Town Moderator (3-year; changed from 1 in 2016)
  • Town Clerk (3-year)
  • Constables (2/3-year)

Resources: Elected Town Boards

Watch the LWV Video that describes Needham’s 10 elected town boards.

Needham Board, Committee, and Commission Member Handbook

Representative Town Meeting

There are a total of 240 elected Town Meeting Members. Town Meeting Members are elected within their precincts in the annual town election. The term of office is 3 years. The Town is divided into 10 precincts, and each precinct elects 24 Town Meeting Members, at least eight per year (more if there are vacancies).

Any citizen of Needham may run for Town Meeting. Interested citizens should watch the LWV-Needham video, Needham Town Meeting–Making Your Voice Count to learn more about how to run and what it means to be a Town Meeting Member in Needham.

Resources: Town Meeting

Watch the LWV video, “Needham Town Meeting–Making Your Voice Count.”

List of Town Meeting Members

Town Meeting Handbook

State Government

Governor: Charlie Baker (Republican)
(email through the Governor’s website by clicking here.

State Senator: Richard J. Ross (Republican)
(Norfolk, Bristol and Middlesex District, which includes Needham precincts A, B, C, I, and J)
(email Richard.Ross@masenate.gov)

State Senator: Michael F. Rush (Democrat)
(Norfolk and Suffolk District, which includes Needham precincts D, E, F, G, and H)
(email Mike.Rush@masenate.gov.

Representative in General Court: Denise C. Garlick (Democrat)
(13th Norfolk District)
(email denise.garlick@mahouse.gov)

U. S. Senators

Elizabeth Warren

Contact Senator Warren

Washington D.C.:
Russell Senate Office Building
2 Russell Courtyard
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-4543

2400 JFK Federal Building
15 New Sudbury Street
Boston, MA 02203
(617) 565-3170

1550 Main Street, Suite 406
Springfield, MA 01103

Edward J. Markey

Contact Senator Markey

Washington, D.C.:
255 Dirksen Senate
Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
(202) 224-2742

15 New Sudbury Street
Boston, MA 02203
(617) 565-8519

U. S. House of Representatives

Joseph P. Kennedy III

Fourth Congressional District
Contact Representative Kennedy

Washington, D.C.
1218 Longworth House Office Building
Washington,  DC 20515
(202) 225-5931

8 North Main St., Suite 200\
Attleboro,  MA 02703
(508) 431-1110

29 Crafts Street, Suite 375
Newton,  MA 02458
(617) 332-3333